2025 American Women Quarters

United States Mint Reveals 2025 American Women Quarters Program

2025 American Women Quarters

Ida B. Wells Quarter

The United States Mint recently disclosed the honorees for the 2025 American Women Quarters Program, marking the fourth and final year of the initiative. The quarters’ reverse (tails) side will have designs representing these American women’s accomplishments and contributions and will be manufactured at Mint facilities in Philadelphia and Denver.

Mint Director Ventris C. Gibson announced the final five women featured in the program of 20 women, highlighting the Mint’s privilege to connect America through coins and honor the significant contributions of these pioneering women in our nation’s history.

The Congressional Bipartisan Women’s Caucus, the National Women’s History Museum, and the Smithsonian American Women’s History Museum advise the Secretary of the Treasury when choosing the honorees, as Public Law 116-330 requires.

The 2025 American Women Quarters honorees are:

  • Ida B. Wells: Investigative journalist, suffragist, and civil rights activist, co-founder of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP).
  • Juliette Gordon Low: Founder of the Girl Scouts, dedicated to empowering girls through leadership and advocacy.
  • Dr. Vera Rubin: Trailblazing astronomer known for her work on galaxy rotation and the discovery of dark matter.
  • Stacey Park Milbern: Visionary disability rights activist, instrumental in legislative efforts, and co-founder of the disability justice framework.
  • Althea Gibson: Trailblazing multi-sport athlete, the first black player to break the color barrier in tennis and compete in the Women’s Professional Golf Tour.

The images in this blog post are not the final chosen designs for the 2025 American Women Quarters program. The final 2025 quarter designs will be available later in 2024.

The designs for the 2025 honorees’ quarters will be revealed in 2024.

Stacey Park Milbern Quarter

The American Women Quarters Program was authorized by Public Law 116-330 and will take place from 2022 to 2025, with five quarters to be issued each year. The program recognizes diverse women in various fields, including suffrage, civil rights, abolition, government, humanities, science, space, and the arts.

The honorees were selected based on their significant contributions and achievements in their respective fields, and each of them has played a vital role in shaping the nation’s history. The American Women Quarters Program is a significant step towards recognizing and honoring the contributions of women who have played a pivotal role in shaping the nation’s history.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *